One in every four people who died on Georgia’s roads in 2018 was impaired at the time of death.
If you are lucky enough to survive driving impaired, being charged with DUI is a life-changing and expensive experience. Jail time is required – even for first offenders – and the conviction stays on your criminal record for life.
A first DUI conviction carries maximum consequences of a fine of $1,000 and up to 12 months in jail. Subsequent DUI convictions bring an escalating array of fines, jail times and community service requirements. A DUI offender must serve at least 24 hours in jail for a first offense, 72 hours in jail for a second offense, and 15 days in jail for a third offense before being enrolled in a probationary period, which can range from one to five years.
As part of probation, courts in Georgia often require electronic monitoring be used to verify offenders’ blood alcohol readings. The agency supervising you during probation can request a random test any time day or night.
One of the most popular breathalyzers, the fuel cell-enabled AIR CheckBAC™ couples Bluetooth® technology with the AIR Mobile Smartphone, to communicate the user’s location and alcohol reading in real time. Once the user blows into the device, the results are immediately uploaded to the supervisory agency’s portal for review and response. In addition, the CheckBAC video application records each breath test, captures the user’s location and uses facial recognition technology to assure the tester’s identity.
The AIR CheckBAC and AIR Mobile Smart Phone are available from A 2nd Chance Monitoring. For more information, visit www.a2ndchancemonitoring.com.
The state of Georgia takes driving under the influence seriously and has passed legislation to support that belief. Even though DUI convictions decreased by 56% from 2008 to 2019, impaired driving is a deadly and expensive decision to make. Ride sharing services take the guesswork out of the decision.